Take a Trip Down the Califonia Mission Trail

There are 21 missions that make up the California Historic Missions Trail that stretches from San Diego to Sonoma. The first mission was built in 1769 and the last mission was built in 1823. Most of the missions are still active Catholic parishes and have regularly scheduled services.

The missions include San Diego de Alcala, San Luis Rey de Francia, San Juan Capistrano, San Gabriel Arcangel, San Buenaventura, San Fernando Rey de Espana, Santa Barbara, Santa Ines, La Purisima Conception, San Luis Obispo de Tolosa, San Miguel Arcangel, San Antonia de Padua, Nuestra Senora de la Soledad, San Carlos Borromeo de Carmelo, San Juan Bautista, Santa Cruz, Santa Clara de Asis, San Jose, San Francisco de Asis Mission Dolores, San Rafael Arcangel and San Francisco Solano.

This entry was posted in California, Catholic Pilgrimage Sites, Saint and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Take a Trip Down the Califonia Mission Trail

  1. Jane P says:

    My friend & I have just completed the first leg of pilgrimage from San Diego Alcala to San Luis Rey Mission. It took us two and a half days walking. I feel ready to walk again after one full day of rest… although my feet are a little sore. On this journey I hope the good Lord will revive the mission of my soul… I hope to grow in faith by trusting in Our Father & discovering His love for me and for all of us, His children.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s